La Salle University 2021 Honors Convocation


Kylie McGovern, Editor 

Timothy O’Shaughnessy at the virtual Honors Convocation 

On Thursday, Oct. 7 nearly 800 La Salle University Students were honored for their academic achievements at the Honors Convocation. Students who achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.50 and above with a minimum of 24 credit hours as of the start of the Fall 2021 semester were celebrated on Thursday. Qualifying students and their families were cordially invited to attend this year’s Virtual Honors Convocation on Thursday, Oct. 7 at 5:30 p.m. via email by the Provost. 

The convocation started with a welcome from the interim provost and vice president of academic affairs Steven Sicnolfi, Ph.D. Next, Father Frank Berna, Ph.D. of the religion and theology department led a prayer and invocation celebrating the accomplishments of the La Salle students during the particularly challenging time of the COVID-19 pandemic. The interim president Timothy O’Shaughnessy made his remarks welcoming friends, families, special guests, and students to the convocation to honor the students. President O’Shaughnessy ‘85 explained that “we are proud to gather today to honor our students who have achieved extraordinary academic success in the Lasallian community.”

 In addition to honoring students this year, La Salle University conferred an honorary degree to a distinguished Lasallian, Nelson J. Perez, Archbishop of Philadelphia. Archbishop Nelson J. Perez explained that he is filled with great joy to be able to celebrate the academic success of the La Salle students. Archbishop Nelson J. Perez also explained how he was inspired by the environment at La Salle in his time teaching theology and psychology here at La Salle. 

Following the presentation of the degree to Archbishop Perez, Steven Siconolfi, Ph.D. presented the distinguished faculty. Mary Wilby, Ph.D., MSN, CRNP, ANP-BC, R.N. of the school of nursing was presented with the 2021 Distinguished Lasallian Educator award. Then, Susan Dixon, Ph.D., an art professor, received the faculty distinguished scholar award. Following that award, Dr. Thomas Blume Ph.D., LMFT, LPC received the faculty distinguished service award. Dr. Catilin Taylor Caitlin Taylor, Ph.D. was then presented with the De LaSalle institute distinguished teaching award for full-time faculty. Following Dr. Taylor’s award, Reg Kim was presented with the De LaSalle institute distinguished teaching award for part-time faculty. Finally, Dr. Jennifer Kleinow Ph.D., CCC-SLP received the 2021 Lindback distinguished teaching award. 

Next, each school and its dean were recognized. First, the School of Arts and Sciences dean Pamela E. Barnett, Ph.D. presented the students in her school being celebrated. Then dean Yusuf Joseph Ugras, Ph.D. presented the School of Business’s recognized students. Lastly, the School of Nursing and Health sciences dean Kathleen Czekanski, PH.D., R.N., CNE those Nursing and Health sciences students being recognized. Dr. Steven Sicnolfi then gave a brief conclusion followed by the alma mater. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s